66 Tried-and-Tested Tips For a Frugal Life

How to Live Frugally

View In Slideshow

It’s easy to say that you want to save more money. It’s harder to actually implement that. Living a frugal life calls for a lifestyle change and a conscious awareness of how you’re spending and saving. It also requires a certain know-how. Learn these tried-and-tested frugal tips from fellow scrimpers cited in Reddit’s subsection for frugal people.
Source: POPSUGAR Photography

Image Source: Shutterstock

Reddit user omegaphora says:

“That thing has been incredible. Budgets ebb and flow. In lean times, it has been great comfort to me knowing that I have “fresh” fruits/veggies in the freezer, for all sorts of uses. Dry goods/pantry items alone get very tiring and redundant. We have at least a few months of food now in the fridge/freezer, deep freezer, and pantry.

“Our tactic now is to buy in bulk and buy on sale. Many fresh foods can be frozen on a cookie sheet, then transferred into a container (diced fruit for smoothies, diced veggies for soups). I usually bake two loaves of bread at a time — freezing the extra one.”

Image Source: Shutterstock

Reddit user Hamsterdam says:

“Deli sliced ham cost two or three times as much as a whole ham. Most grocery store delis will slice a whole ham for you.

“A local store had a sale on deli sliced ham for $4 a pound. They were also having a sale on whole hams, $0.99 a pound. The ham weighed about 10 pounds, and I knew we wouldn’t be able to eat it all at once. That’s OK because cold cuts freeze really well.

“You might consider asking the deli to slice some of the meat into thicker slices for variety. (The ham steaks are great on the grill with some sliced pineapples, half peaches, and bell peppers.)

“If you have a good relationship with the store you could call ahead and have them slice the meat for you for pick up later.”

Image Source: Shutterstock

Reddit user POTATO_IN_MY_OVEN says:

“Before you buy something at a brick-and-mortar store, check Amazon! You can usually find a generic version for much cheaper. The markup for name brands is ridiculous. For instance, I take Loratadine for my allergies. The name brand Claritin costs anywhere from $5 to $10 for 10 pills at my local grocery stores. On Amazon, you can get a bottle of generic Loratadine containing 400 pills for $18! Same active ingredient, for 10 times cheaper.”

Automate It

Image Source: Thinkstock

Reddit user professional_slacker says:

“Ever since I bought my house and took on a mortgage payment of $800 a month, I have had my bank take $400 out of my paycheck every other week and put it into a separate savings account. Then at the end of the month, I make my mortgage payment directly from that account. I never see the money, so I don’t miss it, and there’s no way for me to run out of money for my house payment. It makes things so much easier, especially for a habitual overspender like me.

“I’ve decided to start doing the same for all my bills — figure up how much I pay per month for all my bills, add in some savings, then take half of that amount out of every check so that my entire net salary is ‘my’ money. Hardly a new and exciting idea, but as somebody who has gotten into trouble in the past by spending money irresponsibly, this has been a great way to keep me from overspending (or at the very least keep me from defaulting on my bills by overspending).”

Click here to continue reading the full article

This entry was posted in Money and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

