15 Drugstore beauty gems that you have to try

Once you try these drugstore makeup picks you’ll never buy expensive makeup again

As pathetically vain as it sounds, I live for beauty products. Being a beauty blogger gives me every reason I need to indulge more into this passion of mine, but as a stay-at-home mum without an unlimited bank account, drugstore beauty brands are my usual playground. I get immense satisfaction whenever I discover a drugstore gem.

With so many new releases flooding the market recently, it’s easy to get overwhelmed by all the new shiny things. More often than not, I end up feeling disappointed with my latest purchases. Sometimes the shiny new ones are just that — shiny and new. They draw me like a moth to a flame, and after a few dollars poorer, I will go back to the old heroes that haven’t failed me throughout the years.

Meet my old unsung heroes — the ones that I know I can safely rely on and will never fail me.

1. Foundation

Once you try these drugstore makeup picks you'll never buy expensive makeup again
Image: Beauty Boutique

Bourjois Healthy Mix serum gel foundation is a little heaven in a bottle for the perfect my-skin-but-better base. It gives light coverage with a dewy finish and is great for normal to dry skin. I’ve lost count of how many times I was complimented on my skin because of this foundation and now you know, this is my little secret to natural, perfect-looking skin. For combination or oily skin, try Bourjois Healthy Mix foundation. (Beauty Boutique, $28)

2. Pressed powder

Once you try these drugstore makeup picks you'll never buy expensive makeup again
Image: WalMart

Thanks to my dry skin, I almost never use powder, but whenever I do, Rimmel Stay Matte pressed powder would be my go-to powder. I love it so much I have continuously repurchased it whenever I run out. It sets my under-eye concealer without looking cakey, and the finely milled, silky texture melts into skin seamlessly. (Walmart, $9)

Click here to continue reading the full article

This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

